since 1922


Faculty of Agriculture

University Forest


The University Forest is part of the Faculty of Agriculture.

The University Forest was established to support research and education in forestry and forest science. The University Forest comprises two forests, Funyu and Nikko Forests with a total area of about 739 ha. Funyu, with an area of 531 ha and located in Shioya-machi, is covered by various types of forests stands of Cryptomeria, Chamaecyparis, red pine and deciduous broad-leaved trees. Nikko, 208ha in area and located within the Nikko National Park, is in the cool-temperate and boreal forest zone.

The head office of the University Forests is situated in Funuy Forest and the liaison office is on the Mine campus, Faculty of Agriculture.